1. Money
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

User Reviews

Allstate Review

User Rating 1 out of 5
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Allstate rip offJune 07, 2013 By lkathyn
I've been with Allstate auto for ten years and two years for their home owner insurance. I stayed with them all these years with no claims until recently. Our house was hit by hail storm and wind damage. We had the adjuster come out with their inspector. They said I had small hail damage which they called it bruise, but not enough to fix my roof. There was dings on my vent pipe and missing shingles which they will only fix. I thought that was very silly because all the houses around me got hit by the storm and Allstate is telling me my house didn't get hit?? I live in a cul da sac and everyone has a new roof, except for my house. I'm so fired up by this so called, ""you're in good hands."" I've been with this insurance all this time and when I make a claim they act like the damages are nothing. A damage is a damage no matter how big or small it is. I didn't buy the house like that. I pay my policy on time and every month and this is how they treat their customers?! I'm one angry Allstate customer and I will be changing insurance soon. I will be having a second opinion soon with Allstate. Good luck to whoever is coming out this time because I'm not going to be nice.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Very Unhappy with AllstateApril 30, 2013 By unhappy353
I originally posted this: ""I have been going back and forth with my agent for 8 months now. I was rear ended and upon doing an MRI they found a problem with my neck. I was referred to pain management. I was told that I could not make an appointment because the doctors office would need to bill the insurance. Before calling the doctors office I was told by insurance that I would have to pay the expenses myself and then be reimbursed after the settlement. I have tried to call my agent several times to get a straight answer but he never answers the phone. I have left several voicemails and when he does call me back, he calls my mom and she gives him my number. I never hear from him. This week I received a letter from him that went to my moms address that said he has been unable to reach me. I am fed up at this point. This is the worst customer service I have ever received. When my policy was up I switched to Guide One."" Since that post: It has now been over a year since I was rear ended. I have paid for all medical visits and contacted my agent finally. I had to call in and speak to someone who sent him an email. I let him know that I just want to settle because I need reimbursement for my bills. He told me over a month ago that they were waiting on the bills from my doctor, which I had sent certified mail to them. I got a call today letting me know that I need to sign a release form for them to get my records. I informed them that I have signed the form twice. The woman I spoke to told me that she would talk to my agent and get back with me.
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Giving Allstate the ""Boot"" After 20 YearsMarch 12, 2013 By mareedee1029
My home & autos have been insured with Allstate since 1989. Superstorm Sandy hit the northeast hard on 10/29/12. Our home & property sustained damage when a tree fell onto our house. We were adequately insured, & the damage was due to wind, exactly what our policy should cover. Yet, our our claim is still not resolved. We are on our 3rd or 4th adjuster, I'm not sure, because we lost count. I'm guessing Allstate hopes that we give up, & fix the house with our own funds. A big problem is that they ""corralled' adjusters from all parts of the U.S. These individuals don't know specifics about the northeast, or the way it's homes are built. They lacked respect, & were inarticulate, to say the least. Allstate has managed to make an already bad experience, horrific for us. When this claim reaches it's completion, regardless of the outcome, we will be dropping Allstate. It turns out, that we weren't in good hands, after all.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Allstate you are NOT in a good handsFebruary 27, 2013 By bjanke2
Back in September I had a small two car collision. It took 2 month for allstate agent to come to an agreement who was the responsible party. I was actually thinking that I was not responsible for sure since car hit me coming from the alley and I was on the main street. Each time I wanted to get an update I had to call my agent and leaving him vm to call me back. Finally after two months I call again to see if they came to an agreement with the other insurance company ,my agent picked up the phone and told me that they already settled down long time ago and he was sorry that he forgot to call me. They didn't even give me chance to appeal because they forgot to call me for over a month. Is this a joke? Another thing is when I went to do an estimate of damage for my car,the guy come up with $505 the cost of damage where my deductible was $500. Please don't trust allstate they don't care for you. They only want to catch a lot of naive people by creating the funny stupid commercials and publicity. If you get allstate You will end up paying 30% more than any other insurance and the service is the worse than you will get any cheapest coverage out there. They will do anything to get around from paying you. On the top of this my allstate agent lady trying to sneak some extra cost into my policy by adding $20 for additional this or that. I have to check if the price I am paying is the same every moth because I have automatic payment set up. It happen in the past that she added some extra service to my policy without letting me know.I don't trust them at all.
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Allstate Mortgage InsuranceFebruary 21, 2013 By angela0000
I have all my vehicles and home insured with allstate, more like I did. It is a long and stupid story all I can say I will NOT insure anything with them ever again. Worst customer service ever they keep transfering your call to people who cannot help you at all. And after speaking to ten different customer representatives they give you a local number because there's nothing they can do to help you!!!Called my local number and they are five times worse than the 1-800 number.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Dont ever get in their dirty handsFebruary 19, 2013 By namnguyen
Only when you have accident, you will find out how good your insurance company is. I had an accident, and I have liability only. It was not my fault though. Anyway, they dont even touch the case. I need to do everything myself, and as the result, 6 weeks, still waiting for the damage evaluation. They deny to represent me to contact with the other driver's insurance company to straight things out. Never, ever come back again.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Allstate Auto InsuranceJanuary 30, 2013 By bcranker
I recently purchased Allstate Auto Insurance for a car I bought my daughter. From the first day I received terrible customer service and should have taken it as a warning, After 3 months of faxing documents/ title etc. they cancelled the policy because they did not have the necessary documents to complete information. Every time I'd call they would say they had the info they needed, just maybe call back in a few days and be sure they'd been processed, Then after 3 months, they cancelled the policy because they had not received the necessary paperwork. They were willing to reinstate the policy, but now the premium had gone up by almost $25.00 per month, said state of CA had insurance rate increases, no customer service, no one seems to cares how incompetent their processing and and service people are. I wonder what happens when you have an accident and a claim? I would never choose ALLSTATE again!
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
allstate insurance is terribleJanuary 15, 2013 By hcurry1
I have been an Allstate customer for several years and recently I found that my car insurance went up pretty dramatically. I couldn't understand why because I have never had an accident, paid on time, and have had no tickets. I called and asked why and they told me it had to do with government increases but still didnt understand why I had to pay $126.99 a month for one person to pay. So I cancelled my policy and went with a new insurance that more than cut my payments by half and offered the same coverage! I cancelled with allstate several weeks before my new policy would go into affect. I checked my banking account later in the month and saw that Allstate charged me in full! I called and and while losing 25 mins of my life was told by an Allstate agent that the cancellation was never processed. So three agents later I was told that I was going to get the refund and that they would pay for any overdraft fees. I understand that mistakes happen so I was fine with that. I just had to call back today because I have still not received my refund and talked to a very rude agent that told me that I had to prove that I was charged and sent them a fax of my banking statement! I told him that it was unbelievable that I had to prove the charges when they can see in their computer of the charge and that I was never told this in the first place. So I'm suppose to get this money back on the 17th. Wish me luck
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Insurance Pay outDecember 22, 2012 By alannadean
We live in an apartment building that is a little older. So this winter the pipes broke and someone operating a tractor accidentally cut through our electric lines as well. When the electricians spliced the wires back together they decided to connect them the way they seemed connected to be in the first place. Granted this is a hard job, but when they switched the power on, most of our electrical appliances blew up. Allstate was the insurance company of the electricians that mixed up the wires. From the minute a representative came to assess our damage, it seemed as though my husband and i were being treated very rudely. They acted as though our things that blew up were not even worth making a case about. The representative took pictures of our two tvs, our surround sound stereo with a turntable and our x box. He then said we should hear back from him as to whether or not we even had a case in 7-10 days. it took over two months to hear back from him. apparently we had the most damaged appliances so they granted an insurance settlement. all i had to do was call a representative and sign a paper and fax it to him to get our check. when he told us how much we were getting back i was very uspet. obviously i let the representative know about it, but he was very rude. he actually told me that we were lucky to even be getting an insurance pay out, and if i didn't agree to the price then we would in fact get nothing at all. regretfully my husband and i decided to sign the form, its close to the holidays and we really needed the money. So we faxed him the form and he told me he would mail the check that day. a week later i called and he informed me mailing the check was on his ""to do list"". needless to say this really irritated me. not only were we being treated very rudely, but everyone that we worked with did their job as slowly and terribly possible. I would really like to complain about both the Allstate representatives that handled our case, but who can i possibly talk to about it??? any opinions??? '
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Allstate's offer to insure -ingenuine-December 06, 2012 By gfink
After years of being with state farm I was enticed by the pricing at Allstate and switched insurance companies. then 3 weeks into the new policy I was informed I must make roof repairs because of curled shingles. they are not curled, but the roof is older. I'll be darned if I'm going to let an insurance company tell me when to fix my roof. Don't be lured into the trap.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
not in good hands!!November 13, 2012 By gmule1
We have allstate for all of our cars, for years my mother-in law in NY., Sandy hit she is 72years old no electric, or heat, and her new audi is totaled. All other insurance companies (in her neighbor hood and other family members) have immedatly responded and have paid claims, allstate promised to be there this past Sunday two weeks later and never showed up. After my wife calling to complain the guy showed up late today. after his examination he said yes its totaled but you have a $1k deductible and another investigator will show up in about 7 days, to confirm its totaled. ARE YOU KIDDING!! This is our first and last claim with Allstate, you should all cancel before you really need them!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
NOT in good hands!! If you make a claim. AllstateNovember 09, 2012 By mzkendall
Never buy with Allstate. If you ever have to make a claim, you will not be happy. For me it started off with an accident that was not my fault. Hit n run, they never pulled the 911 tapes to get the plate # to go after the guy. Takes an adjuster over a week to look at the car. 2nd accident not my fault, couldn't even get a tow truck to come. I had to pay out of pocket and wait for reimbursement. Again over a week for adjuster to look at car. It's been over 6months and still waiting for deductible. 3rd accident, not my fault, took them over 2 1/2 months to get my deductible back. Also, yes takes adjuster over a week to look at car. 4th accident, my fault, again have to pay out of pocket for towing and it's very upsetting after having an accident. Overall, very slow to help you. When I get my car back, I will never use Allstate and can't wait to get rid of them. Buyer beware, don't think because their a big company you'll get good service!!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
AllstateOctober 17, 2012 By jesseYarbrough
Don't use Allstate Because I have been waiting on a Renter Car since 10/13/12 I Had A accident with someone who is covered By Allstate And She got the ticket from the Police Officer, She was trying to made a left turn from the far right lane, I was in the middle lane I saw her getting ready to make the turn so I slowed down my car so she could see me and she stopped so I proceeded to keep on and when I proceeded on that when she decided to make the left turn. and have been calling Allstate for day, the Police Report was released yesterday and I am still without transportation as of 10/17/12. PEASE DON'T USE ALLSTATE INSURANCE FOR ANYTHINY INSURANCE REASON.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
You're NOT in good hands-Home InsuranceOctober 08, 2012 By Opinionsthatmatter
In early fall 2011, we received a very competitive quotation from Allstate Canada, for home and auto insurance. First time customers of All State we were ranked VIP status given our multiple years claims free status. Half way into our policy year, however, we suffered water damage to our basement, the result of a burst pipe. We initially inquired with a flood restoration contractor to ascertain the level of remediation and restoration and whether we should in fact file a claim with the insurance company. We also consulted the insurance company to determine what, if any impact there would be to our policy/premium. Given the amount of damage and the value of the loss involved, we had little choice but to file an insurance claim. We claimed very little in terms of losses to any personal belongings ($1,000.00+/-); however, remediation & restoration costs to our finished basement, were substantial. ($15,000.00+/-). During remediation & restoration efforts, the service we received from AllState was outstanding. However, apparently customer service with AllState is duplicitous, in that the bomb was dropped by way of registered letter, announcing that they were cancelling our policy in light of the ""first year"" claim and the amount. AllState essentially downgraded our status from VIP to cancelled policy holders and this obvioulsy will adversely and seriously impact us as we look for alternate insurance coverage. The ridiculous position adopted by AllState suggests that we had control over the timing and nature of our claim. Unlike auto insurance, it's not as though this was the result of negligence or recklessness on our part. Word of caution to would be customers; our experience mirrors complaints filed by other customers that All State tends to lure with competetive premiums and then engages in it extremely poor customer service practice after they've reined you in.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Horrible serviceSeptember 28, 2012 By picturesque353
I have been going back and forth with my agent for 8 months now. I was rear ended and upon doing an MRI they found a problem with my neck. I was referred to pain management. I was told that I could not make an appointment because the doctors office would need to bill the insurance. Before calling the doctors office I was told by insurance that I would have to pay the expenses myself and then be reimbursed after the settlement. I have tried to call my agent several times to get a straight answer but he never answers the phone. I have left several voicemails and when he does call me back, he calls my mom and she gives him my number. I never hear from him. This week I received a letter from him that went to my moms address that said he has been unable to reach me. I am fed up at this point. This is the worst customer service I have ever received. When my policy was up I switched to Guide One.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
All State is horrible and no integrity!September 10, 2012 By opitionsGreat
If your insurance company does not pay for the accident when you rear end other car, that is a terrible company. I got rear end by a young person who was using his smart phone. The police did not show up. We took all the photos and he gave us all the insurance information, driver license and car plates. I took all the photos, then all state said that after careful investigation, they feel like they are not responsible for the damage! Well, if rear end other car, while the light turn red on the ramp. Then it is your fault. You should keep safe distance , you should slow down onto ramp while red light, you can not talk on the phone.....
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
3 out of 5 3 out of 5
AllstateAugust 30, 2012 By JuanCarlosDeLeon
I have been with Allstate since 1992, until march 2012, during the last 3 years Allstate increase my rates without any reasons. I didn't have any accidents or claims. Allstate does not value costumer loyalty. Allstate took money from my pocket just to pay their expensive TV adds and promotions. Very sad they don't care after so many years.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
YOU HAVE AN ENEMY IN ALLSTATE!August 27, 2012 By allenshaw
I have been paying ALLSTATE auto medical benefits payments for years. I was struck by a tractor trailer truck that lost its brakes, and I was hospitalized with a brain concussion for several days (I received i.v. morphine and anti convulsive drugs). I've been diagnosed with Ataxia and damage to my cerebelum (brain), and severe whip lash. I have severe balance problems and very excruciating headaches that are with me almost 24 hours a day. Allstate has sent me to several physicians with the following results. One M.D., an orthopedist with a history of cases of malpractice that he lost, sat behind his desk, never touched me, was very rude and cancelled any therapy for my neck injuries. The next one of ALLSTATE'S finest was a chiropractor who after my first visit decreased my physical chiropractic therapy from 3 x weekly to 1x weekly. However, he did find a ""severe loss of neck and shoulder movement'. Four weeks later, he decided I was cured and cancelled my physical therapy. Finally, they sent me to their Neurologist who found sever damage and continued my therapy. Guess what? He's no longer working for Allstate. I guess you can't be an honest physician, when Allstate is only retaining medical hatchetmen. the strange part is that Allstate is supposed to be facilitating my medical treatments. instead, they are doing their best to minimalize my injuries. Believe me, you DO NOT HAVE A FRIEND IN AllSTATE!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Policy went higher for what!!!August 24, 2012 By kid33
I have been with Allstate for over 2 years now and every TIME....I turn around these idiots keep uping my premium amount! The crazy thing is I only have liability! I ask my mom and she is paying lower than me with FULL COVERAGE!!! I can't believe them, as many people I have referred to them! I wouldn't recommend this insurance company at all! I'm about to go look around as we speak!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Worst Insurance Company EverAugust 02, 2012 By bmorris1
I was hit by someone insured by Allstate and they were abslutely the worst company to deal with. The lady I talked to was SO rude and I will never consider going with Allstate because they did not even cover my medical bills which were minimal! Don't get hit by someone with Allstate cause they will suck you dry!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
You're never in good hands with Allstate!July 30, 2012 By brittanyana2
My parents fell victim to the Derecho storm in Lynchburg, VA. They had an estimated $35,000's worth of damage to the house, which included, the whole back of the roof and structure repair, 2 cracked walls, the bathroom ceiling replaced, a bedroom completely replaced. They also have to replace a two story deck which is estimated at $6,000, and items that were on the deck which came to around $3,000. They had men come out to help lift 100yr old trees off of the roof and keep rain from getting in. they wrote a bill for 1,200 dollars. We turned in all of the estimates to Allstate and they sent them a letter stating that they will be sending $18,000! which included $2,000 for the deck and $35 for the men who billed us for the initial help on the roof! This also was after an insurance rep came out and gave a look and said that we were ""100% covered"". the WSET news even came out to do a story on it! needless to say they are switching to STATE FARM!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Allstate Cancels Insurance after 1st ClaimJuly 16, 2012 By mad1230
I am disgusted with Allstate. Immediately following a theft claim, (our first insurance claim ever) they cancelled our home owner's insurance policy. The letter specified the claim as the reason for the cancellation. They did cover 1/3 of the damage. They are an American Corporation that made over $32 Billion in 2009 and for them to cancel a policy on a loyal client is just downright dirty. I'm not the first of Allstate's customers nor am I last. I blame American Corporations for the Economic Collapse. They continue to take advantage of Americans increasing prices and taking our jobs overseas.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Worst Customer Service I have ever receivedMay 09, 2012 By LaurenK77
One of Allstate's client's hit me from behind going 65 Mph while i was stopped in traffic. This caused the cars to catch on fire and blow up. I lost everything in the car and All State does not deny my personal items or claims but wants to only give me $2000 LESS of my claim because they claim my items are used. They want to deduct money from MY belongings when their client blew my car up? I lost car keys, an ipod, shoes, medication, my daughters car seat, my daughters belongings, my lap top, lap top bag and other items i had inside. I have copies of the police report, pictures of the scene (their client never braked), all copies of paperwork admitting their clients fault and more. The fact that it has been almost 2 months and we can not replace anything is ridiculous. All State seems to think that because my daughters favorite stuffed animals were 'loved' that i can accept pennies on the dollar for what they are worth? They think that because I wore a pair of shoes TWICE they are worth less? I can not replace anything, and would have all of my belongings if their client had been paying attention on the road. I was knocked out in my car and another driver had to wake me up to get out as it bursted into flames. The driver was arrested for driving drunk, driving over a hillside and damaging his car weeks before he hit me! He had just gotten his car back from the repair shop 3/19 and wrecked into me 3/21! Their client shared all of this information at the scene of the accident and took full responsibilty. All i want to do is get my life back together and replace the things we have lost. I have tried to work with customer service this whole time and they do not want to cooperate. This is the worst customer service experience of my life, i do not know how they can treat me like I am the one at fault when i could have lost my life that day. Allstate makes you feel like you are in one of their Mayhem commercials. they must get their ideas from claims from their clients that they deny and put through further hell.
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
quick to settle slow to PayApril 13, 2012 By littleriver58
Two Years ago I had an accident. I settled the personal injury side approx four weeks ago with the Allstate adjuster, who told me that I would probably get the Check with the next 3 to 4 days, three weeks later not got. Believe that I made a mistake should have got a lawyer. Dismal service and wouldn't recommend them to anyone in Canada.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Allstate Rip offApril 05, 2012 By snappy69
My father-in-law got into a minor fender bender - with about $500 damage to the other car. He considered paying the person out of his pocket and not involving the insurance company. The woman at Allstate said they could take care of it and he wouldn't have to worry about a thing. It may raise your rates, she said. Within about a month, he got a notice that they DOUBLED his rates. He was with Allstate for years and had a good driving record. No other claims. Their advertisements on TV make them out to be so friendly and easy to work with. What a sham!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Will not insure in MA for accidents not at fault!March 26, 2012 By UFGC
Will not insure in Massachusetts for accidents not even at fault! I called to get a qoute and was told they would not insure me as I was in an accident 3 years ago which I wasn't even at fault for & was hit by a teenage kid! I've been in two accidents in my life each 5 years apart, never at fault for either, no speeding tickets, been driving for well over a decade, and they will not insure me. Allstate is a disgrace and a example of the problem with the entire insurance industry (particularly given they are the largest auto)!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Do not ever use themMarch 23, 2012 By Amberlynn65
I was told since I was a high rish driver I was not able to get rental insurance for my rental property. So I waited until March like they said so then I wouldnt be high risk any more. Then they tell me I have to wait until June. They never could tell me what my driving has to do with home insurance. I finaly changed to State Farm and they had no problem setting up my home car and rental insurance.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Insurance FraudFebruary 27, 2012 By lakindrad
Watch out for Allstate homeowners insurance. If you have a break in and it can't be proven to be forceful entry it want be covered. We recently had a break in where it appears they used a credit card or some other device to get in. Forensics has fingerprints from the indivual and the police are unable to find the indivual. What really bothers me about the situation is your pay your premiums for homeowners and car only to be told we aren't covering anything. My family and I feel so violated that our items were stole and that Allstate is doing nothing about it. I plan to file an appeal. We have since gotten an alarm I don't recommend there homeowners to anyone.I would hate to see this happen to anyone else.
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Allstate rate hikeFebruary 23, 2012 By jdnelson68
Watch your premiums allstate is raising your rates by over 20% but if you think it is across the board think again.... Just got a quote from Liberty Mutual for half of that! Don't take their stuff anymore....
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Worst agentFebruary 17, 2012 By charlotte675
I have the worst experience from one of their agents in charlotte. I bought my auto policy first time in september 2011. I submitted all my documents (passport,address proof etc ) at that time and paid the one-time activation fee. Everything went fine. I got all the documents and the policy number. It was valid initially for 6 months. from september 2011 to feb 2012) A month later I receive notification (through mail or email, I dont remember) to submit my address proof otherwise my policy would be cancelled. I thought thats strange but I gave them my NC address proof. ( letter addressed from USCIS). Another month down the lane in November, I received another email(yes, this time it WAS an email) that they need proof of North Carolina residency to continue my insurance so provide them with a copy of a NC lease agreement, copy of your NC driver license, or documentation from a NC regulated banking institution. I told them I have given my USCIS letter already as an address proof. After some email exchanges back and forth, I gave them copy of NC car registration title as the address proof. But by that time, they informed me that due to some wrong doings from one of their agents (from whom I had bought the policy first time in September), my policy would be cancelled effective january 21 2012 (almost one and a half month before initial expiry date of my policy). They demanded another activation fee of $99 to renew my policy. It was such a mental torture supplying them with documents every other month and in the end being told that your policy would cancelled no matter what. One of the worst worst insurance out there. My concern is that, when I gave them USCIS letter as an address proof, what took them so long(one month) to discover that this is not the correct document. Secondly, when I gave them my car registration title as an address proof, why they still have to cancel my current policy and have me pay another activation fee. I share the same feeling that I wish I could have given ZERO star.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Wish I could give zero starsFebruary 03, 2012 By ryw34
We've had Allstate for the past 3 years. During that time our monthly premium went up enormously. Their commercials lie. Their agents are rude and will say whatever to get you to leave their office. If you call them with a problem, chances are you will be hung up on! Three years ago, our policy was $50 a month(this included an installment fee of $8 for paying monthly). A couple days ago when we received our new policy we discovered our monthly payment went up to $105. In 3 years our monthly payment went from $50 to $105. Time to cancel! I've never been in an accident, or had a ticket. My other half hasn't had a ticket or at-fault accident since his mid-20's. He's only been in one no-fault accident since then. 3 years ago, when we switched to Allstate we moved into the city, making our driving to/from work, and pleasure driving under 7,500 miles a year. When we first started our policy we were given credit for that. When we went to renew 6 months later, they bumped us up to driving 10k+ a year. They refused to change it even though we could prove with yearly registration that we were driving way less. They would only go off of how many miles we had put on the car since buying it. Our loyalty bonus NEVER went up(it actually went down). We always paid our insurance 2 weeks before the due date. Our safe driver bonus NEVER went up, despite being accident and ticket free the entire time. Those twice a year good driver bonus checks? I've never seen one, I think they must be a myth. Anytime we called to question the above problems, we were given the run around and promptly hung up on. We've already switched to a different company, we're just waiting for for the month we've already paid for to completely switch over. We'll now be paying $47 a month. It also includes roadside and the company we switched to will reimburse towing charges. I'm just hoping we won't have issues with them trying to continue to charge us even after canceling our policy as other people have!
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
“Their Good Hand are in your Pockets”January 16, 2012 By mikeflordiarpb
“Their Good Hand are in your Pockets” Cons cares only for profit not the customer, too expensive, Some Agents not ethical, High rates Allstate — I have been a allstate policy holder( home and auto) for over twenty five years when I live in New York my agent was great knew the family and was treated good, move to Florida about 8 years now that's when the rates started to get high. I received a letter about teen drivers and it stated that it would automatically added my daughter to my policy (very nice of them LoL) when I call them and remind them that she only had a permit and that she was three hundred miles away from my house and has no car at her use. they first told me that I needed to send them the address of her apt near the University. I agree to send them what paper needed for them to be satisfied that she is not at my home . when the new 6 month policy came in she was added to my policy (with a hefty increase added to the policy over $1000) call the agent and ask her about it she said that she couldn't be taken off my policy, and the only way was for her to give up her permit (since when are we the one who pay the bills are told what to do) So if I would let them stick there good hands in my pocket I would be paying two thousand dollar more than I have to for someone who maybe drove my cars for about 10 miles since she had her permit over a year and half ( this is her second year at school) and is three hundred miles away from any car that I have. ( just a reminder not license to drive only has a permit) must think some of us are fools They are only concern with profits. after I call them to cancel on 9/14/11 there still sending me bills 5 diff amount starting 1800 then few week later 1900 then 2000 then 300 final 33 sent them a email mutiple time with no response ask for breakdown on bill so I can see how they came up with the final number (look as if they send out bill and think people will not question it). When I first move here to florida from New York ( My house in New York was with Insure with allstate for over 15 yrs) I try to get my house insure by them since I was with them so long. I sold my house up in NY and had to wait two months for my Brand New house in Florida to close on,I was told that allstate wasn't take no policy in florida so the agent put me in with another insurance company (I didn't know about hurricane deductable being from New York) start at $1800 a year then next went up the next year to $2300 then the year after that the bill came in for over $ 5000,I call the agent then sat with them told them they have to be crazy if I'm going to pay $ 5000 a year for a brand new house that is up to all the hurricane codes (which the Agent the sign me up didn't ask if I had these upgrades - very nice of them LOL) lucky there was a agent there I knew from New York this time and got my rate down to $1300 for the year big difference huh all it took was a picture of the house. I ask how come I didn't get credit for all my upgrades I was told by them that I should have ask for them ( They are only concern with profits. ) what got me mad was that these people ( the Agents lex barker wellington fl) knew about the development I live in (1200 homes) that all the home were built with all hurricane code upgrade and didn't ask anything about them so they can collect thousands extra. and now that I have girl who had for year and half hasn't drove more than 10 mile with a PERMIT wants me to pay for her knowing that she can't drive because she isn't license and that she doesn't live at my house and I can prove it. they don't care they got their good hand out of my pocket now (New insurance more than half the cost they were going to charge me shop around people thing are not like the way it was, watch your pockets.I will never go back and will advise my kids to do the same, lost a long time good customer to greed they forgetting about the customer only looking to get there good hands in your pockets
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
very very very poor customer service.January 06, 2012 By shekharhamal
I start auto insurence with allstate and to get the insurance card I had to call them more than 10 times and finally I received after 6 months when I had to renew the polocy. I drove my car without insurence card and just the printout of the proof of insurance that they email me. My employee ask for my insurance card but I couldn't provide and had to lie that I loose the card and have order new one. I didnt want to change my insurer so I keep continue with allstate another 6 months and before 1 months to end that 6 months period they mailed me that my insurance is increase without any reasons. so i decided to switch to another insurer and inform them 1 month ahead of time that I am gonna end insurance with them and reconform that if i have to call again to cancel it, but the person whom i talk said i dont need to. To be in the safe side I called a day before my insurance ends and reconform that my insurance would end the day after and the person said it is in the system. BUT 2 DAYS AFTER MY BANK ACCOUNT WAS AUTOMATICALLY CHARGED FOR SIX MONTHS SO I CALLED ALLSTATE REGARDING THIS MATTER. THE GUY I SPEAK WITH NAME ALI TOLD ME THAT I WOULD BE REFUND WITHIN 24 HOURS TO MAXIMUM 48 HOURS. I RECONFORM WITH HIM THAT I NEED MY MONEY TO PAY MY BILLS AND WOULD NEED AFTER 2 DAYS. HE ASSURE ME ABOUT IT BUT I DIDNT SEE THE REFUND EVEN AFTER 4 DAYS. SO I CALLED ALLSTATE AGAIN AND THEY TOLD ME THAT ITS GONNA TAKE ONE MONTHS TO GET MY MONEY BACK. THEN I ASK TO TALK TO THE SUPERVISOR AND THE SUPERVISOR TOLD ME HE CAN DO NOTHING ABOUT IT AND I HAD TO WAIT FOR ABOTHE ONE WEEK AT LEAST AND TRY TO TELL ME THAT IT WAS MY MISTAKE THAT I DIDNT INFORM THEM AT LEAST 5 DAYS BEFORE. WHEN I TOLD HIM I HAD INFORM THEM ONE MONTH AHEAD OF TIME AND HE REPLIED THEY DONT DO THAT ONE MONTHS BEFORE. I HAD TO DEAL WITH TOO MANY THINGS AND COULDNT USE MY OWN MONEY AND ALSO HAD TO PAY LATE CHARGE FEE DUE TO LATE PAYMENT OF MY BILLS.SO I WOULD SAY STAY AWAY FROM ALLSTATE AND TRY TO FIND SOMEONE ELSE. THEY HAVE POOR POOR POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Allstate's claim practicesDecember 21, 2011 By susanlboles
Be aware that Allstate insureds have a free pass when they cause accidents. All they have to do is deny their responsibility. Allstate automatically denies the claim based on a he said/she said argument. The reason my claim against their insured was denied (in one day) was because their insured denied running the red light at a photo enforced intersection and T-boning my car as I made a U-Turn on a green arrow (no injuries, therefore, no police report; in the City of El Cajon, the insurance companies determine who is at fault). Their insured said that I was at fault. End of story; claim denied while taking my recorded statement. When I asked why? I was told that it was denied because their insured ""told a different story."" When Allstate denies a claim, they very rarely reopen it. Denying a claim in one day and claiming that it was after a thorough investigation earned them a trip to the California Insurance Commissioner's complaint desk where it is awaiting their thorough investigation.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Allstate was greatDecember 19, 2011 By goknow24
I filed a claim for hail damage in November of 2011 in the NYC area. The adjuster came out within 5 days of my notification. He inspected my home and gave me a check onsite to begin the repairs. After getting a few quotes from contractors that were much higher I was getting frustrated because I could not find anyone to repair my roof for the $5200 that was allotted to me. Estimates were around $7500 from local contractors. I called adjuster and he asked for the information of the contractor I would like to use so he could contact. Adjuster worked out difference in pricing and talked the contractor down to the actual cost to do the roof of $5700. Work was completed with no problems and the only amount I paid out of pocket was my $500 deductible. I will stand by the great service of Allstate. In my opinion, no one ever writes anything good about a person/company anymore. It seems like the only time people speak their minds is when they are upset or angry.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
pleaseDecember 18, 2011 By happyholidays20
Allstate agent continues to send ""we want you back"" mail!! I dropped Allstate after they treated me horrible...I was their customer for 30 years, always paid on time etc..found what I hope is a better insurance company... Every time I receive one of these ""we want you back"" ""we miss you"" from Allstate it reminds me of how ""dumb"" I was to stay with Allstate for 30 years...What Allstate misses is my money!!! I wish Allstate would not contact me...It is as if Allstate is rubbing it in with the message that I was a sucker for 30 years sooo I must still be a sucker....I hope NOT!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
all state disability insuranceDecember 15, 2011 By missie1963
I have been out of work on disability since July of 2011. I had met life for short term disability through work and immediately received my checks after a two week waiting period, every week. My short term disability has ended three months ago and I have begun the long process of trying to obtain my disability check from all state. It has been over two months now and I am advised by all state that they are still working on my claim every week for over a month now-- This week I am now notified by all state that they are requiring further information from my doctor and I still will not be receiving a check until information is obtained. I would recommend if you have all state -- drop it immediately!! They do not care about you. I am now in the process of having my electric turned off, and i am coming up on my second month of my house payment being late.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Allstate homeowners deluxe insuranceDecember 06, 2011 By Johnl3
My brother and I have Allstate and we were burlarized a year and half ago. I have had the deluxe policy since 1977. In filing are claim and contacting are agent was a joke. I am 64 and my brother is 75. We both needed extra help and got very little if any from anyone in Allstate in trying to recover are losses. Are calls were never returned in a speedy manner if returned at all. Anytime we requested any info we got none. There was no working with us at all. We were in the process of being relocated by a redevelopment agency during are theif. I felt we really had no personal touch or any concern about are loss at all. My brother has contacted another insurance because we are both leaving Allstate as soon as we find a Insurance that has a total customer service commitment, instead of just taking are money year after year and provide verylittle in return. If you read this Allstate, We hate you for how you made us feel when we needed you the most in are bad times. Buy American and Voice your concerns to make are Americia Better!!
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
2 out of 5 2 out of 5
Surprise BillNovember 08, 2011 By i.hawk
My car was damaged by an Allstate policy holder. The process ran quite well from the initial estimate, through the Avis rental, to fixing the car. Then, something went wrong. I had been led to believe that Allstate and Avis had agreed to a contract price and that the rental would be totally covered. Not so. Apparently, the two companies have a communication issue, which left me holding a $135 bill. Following half a dozen calls this morning, neither organization acknowledged 1) that an agreement of payment existed between them, and 2) that 135 is not equal to zero.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Unhappy with AllstateOctober 24, 2011 By loriab68
An Allstate driver rear-ended me a few weeks ago. His Mercedes hit the back of my minivan on a Friday. I did not get a rental until Tuesday night because Allstate still hadn't gotten all the information from their own driver as of yet. I rented a minivan to replace my minivan while in the shop. The minivan costs an extra $15 per day above their whopping $28 per day rental allowance. Allstate is refusing to pay the additional costs because I could fit my family of 4 in an Altima just fine. If I wanted to put my family in an Altima, I would have bought one and saved myself lots of money rather than purchasing a minivan. But now we carpool with neighbors, the kids play sports, I am a taxi service, basically. I am only asking for a vehicle similar to what I normally drive, which I do so for safety reasons. They aren't even considering the fact that Friday, Saturday, Sunday, Monday, and most of Tuesday I did not have a rental. Well, that is my disappointment with this insurance company. I think they are the pits!
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
2 out of 5 2 out of 5
It's not insurance if they make you paySeptember 07, 2011 By mkirschn
We had an at-fault accident in March, 2011. The cost of repair to my vehicle was $2,200. I paid the deductible of $1,000 and Allstate provided the remaining $1,200. I don't know the damage cost to the other car, but it was a minor accident (paint scratched and one dent). My policy came up for renewal and Allstate added a surcharge of $700 every 6 months for the next 3 years. That's a $4,200 increase - on top of the $1,000 deductible I paid. They are essentially making me pay for all the repairs to both cars. I had thought that insurance was meant to pay for accidents, not make me pay for them. I could understand a premium increase that was in line with the accident magnitude, but not having me pay for the whole accident. I immediately cancelled my policy and went with another carrier - after 30 years of business with Allstate.
15 of 16 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Not PleasedAugust 22, 2011 By notpleased
the ajuster they asigned me is making my life hell I told allstate about this and they won't even try too help me from trying too lower the rebuild of my house too beeing very rude the GOOD HANDS PEOPLE what a joke nothing about my house burning is good but too have these ppl be little you and not even try too resolve the issue they leave me hanging.if you want too use allstate be warnd they will leave you hanging out too dry and not give a care for you or your family.From one day too the next I don't know what too expect not profesional at all.I suffer from depression and its not easy when ALLSTATE plays this game its been 7 months and I had too fight all the way with them for them too say we can't help you call the ajuster I never hired the ajuster they did now its up too me too fight on my own why do I pay allstate then
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
3 out of 5 3 out of 5
Allstate misleads seniorsJune 28, 2011 By sparks2010
I trusted Allstate because they were referred to me. Big mistake, I left Farmers to go with Allstate. Big mistake They misrepresented facts, such as I needed to insure my home for $350,000 Tax records showed 178,000. They indicated this was set by the Insurance Board. I now have insurance with Farmers for replacement cost of $278,000. It seems to me they are more concerned with making the office more money than servicing their customers. I found that my cars had no provisions for collission which now has cost with attorney fees i access of $3500. If you have Allstate I suggest you get a good Farmers agent or other reputable insurance company to give you a bid and an honest answer. Lack of knowledge cost money, trusting the wrong company cost money. After trying to contact the agency which has several offices in the tomball area of Texas t(the owner never would take my call, just my money) I canceled only to find out new charges had been added. Think carefully before you trust anyone who is unreachable and dishonest
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Low Cost, Low Service Insurance CarrierMay 30, 2011 By gdiesels
In May 2010, our neighborhood experienced two large hail storm events that damaged roofs. State Farm declared the whole area as a disaster event. Three different roof inspectors / contractors confirmed that our 6 year old roof was damaged and needed repair or replacement. When we attempted to make our first and only claim with Allstate since 1984, their adjuster agreed that the roof was damaged but denied our claim stating that the damage was due to a manufacturing defect in the composite shingle. 14 other homes in our immediate area, including both my next door neighbors, had their damaged roofs covered by their insurance carriers. We sent samples of our shingles back to the manufacturer who advised that the shingles did not appear to be up to their normal high standard and agreed to, even though the ""full start"" warranty period had elapsed, provide a partial labor payment and replace the actual shingles. The manufacurer advised that although the shingles could of performed better the catalyst for the damage was the hail storms. We then returned to Allstate with more than half the cost of the repair secured and asked for them to cover the remainder. Wrong action on our part. At this point, Allstate dug in their heels and refused to help, and relied on the manufactures good faith effort to partially cover the costs, as their primary reason that the damage was not covered. Again, it should be noted that EVERY OTHER HOME in our neighborhood that had insurance other that Allstate was covered. Allstate might offer good premiums but don't count on them down the road. As noted above, we had been Allstate customers since 1984 and had more than five different policies with them, including vehicles, rentals and an umbrella policy. Frustration motivated us to do some comparission shopping and through an independent insurance broker, we switched all our policies to another company and managed to save more than one-thousand dollars per year.
15 of 16 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
very poor serviceMay 01, 2011 By Mishkat
I was moved by the strong advertisement. However, when I applied, I went through a long and painful process. The customer service was unhelpful, very poor, and unable to help. It took hours and hours over the phone with no progress. They said they mailed me the package, however it never arrived. I have to cancel at the end. I am glad I did.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Right to privacy?December 09, 2010 By Bikerman60
I have been an Allstate customer for several years, but I recently had a claim. I had given the customer rep my cell phone number so that they could get in touch with me during the day. The claim process went very well. However, within two days after my claim was reviewed, I received a phone call on my cell phone at 8:30 PM. It was a survey company, Issues and Answers, calling to inquire about my recent experience. Allstate had given them my personal cell phone number and did not even request permission. When I called I & A, I specifically requested personal assurance that my phone number would be deleted from their database. I asked four times and NEVER got assurance. The rep told me that he would ""research it"" and call back in a couple days--but never did. A couple weeks later I received a call on my home phone from Q & A research. I returned the call, and the Phone Room Supervisor told me that there is a 9 in 10 chance that the reason they had called me was for a survey--for Allstate! Apparently Allstate considers it acceptable to give out customer phone numbers to surveyors without customer consent. Surveyors are conveniently exempt from the ""No-Call"" list. Apparently a person's phone number isn't considered confidential as long as Allstate is using it to ""improve"" their services, even when they give it to a third party.
7 of 18 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
AllstateOctober 07, 2010 By atlantagrace
The claim process, even with another Allstate customer, is very very poorly run, responded to, and nothing is put back in writing, weeks and weeks go by with no action. Both sides of Allstate claim agents were never available, call back and on second ring it magically goes to voice mail? If you call them you get voice mail. If you fax, you get no response. If you call your local Allstate agent who sold you the insurance 12 years ago - they are clueless to help and tell you ""they can't do anything"" - so why do we have local agents? Don't they get commission each month from our premium (s) - and friends tell me auto is the least - their homeowner loss process is the same and horrible - which I have never had to claim - but seriously folks - I am moving my policy just for their unprofessional demeanor and lack of any responses or paperwork to document their ""decisions"" from an #800? Run....
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Run awayOctober 04, 2010 By jblack1212
An you won't have a problem until you file a claim or have a life insurance policy for 20-30 years and they want to get rid of you. Then the problems start. 30 year customer and my advise is to run away from Allstate.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Please Beware - Allstate is the worst company!September 13, 2010 By jersey1515
Signing up with Allstate was the worst decision ever. I relied on the fact that it was a well known insurance company. On June 26, 2010 I signed up after being quoted a premium of $598 with $100 being automatically deducted from my checking acct every month. I then received a packet of paperwork showing everything I needed to supply to them. Everything from proof of home ownership to insurance proof for the last five years. It had to be not only the old insurance cards but the coverage limitations for the past 5 yrs. Apparently their system didn't have all the information. After supplying them with all this information by July 26, 2010 I still had not gotten a bill or had my monthly premium taken out. I called to inquire and they said they were still working on processing my paperwork that it would be straightened out by first week of August. I then noticed that online my premium was near $1500 nearly 3 times what I had been quoted. I was assured that the 'underwriter' would adjust it as soon as they went over my paperwork but he/she just had not had the time to go over it. By the way according to all the customer reps there was no way of contacting this extremely busy underwriter other than via email. Also no matter all the info I sent proving I had insurance with the same company there was always a problem with the paperwork. I was even on the line with an Allstate rep as he called my insurance company to request all the paperwork but when I called again another Allstate rep said it was not enough information. As the Aug 26, 2010 deadline approached where they would take all this money from my checking acct. I called everyday to get transferred to every imaginable dept with every call ending with their hands were tied. Finally I had to put a stop on them taking money from my acct and I canceled my acct on Aug 24, 2010. I just got a $600 bill for non payment of premium. I just called letting them i know I canceled Aug. 24, 2010. I was told sometimes the computer opts not to process a request and that's what happened with mine!!!! Terrible terrible terrible service.
7 of 10 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Allstate is HORRIBLEAugust 30, 2010 By Salitro22
I read another review about Allstate being financially sound company, which I don't doubt since they don't pay out legitimate claims for damages their drivers cause. Customer Service there is terrible, when I would try to reach them I only got voicemails. It took them 5 months to reach a conclusion on the claim, and they didn't see their driver's vehicle until 2 months after the accident. This part behooves me. 2 months!! Many repairs could have taken place in 2 months! They denied the claim once on the basis that there was no proof of damage to their vehicle, so I sent them color photos provided by the police officer who investigated the accident. He deemed it a hit and run and their driver was also charged with DUI the same day. The police arrested their driver on those charges, so I can not believe their denial of the claim. Overall they are a lousy company to deal with. This happened in Illinois and I was dealing with their corporate office which is near Chicago.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Allstate sucksFebruary 18, 2010 By Ltanie
I found out yesterday that Allstate was dropping my auto coverage due to the fact I had one claim in 2007. I've been with the for the past fours years you're in good hands with allstate...if you never make any claims. They are always happy to take your money, but make a claim and they'll drop you first chance they get. First of all the claim was due to the fact that and someone hit my car while it was park and they did not leave their info. Also I've been paying a gold member premium which suppose to cover me under their accident forgiveness clause and that my premium would not increase. If anyone is in the same boat and want to start an class action lawsuit against them, please contact me.
11 of 13 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Run around between agent and corporate officeJanuary 07, 2010 By nkeyser
I have been with Allstate for over a decade, however I found the same insurance coverage with other companies for 100.00 less (for each policy) and cancelled my policies with Allstate. My auto insurance cancelled when it was time for renewal so that was not a problem. My homeowners is a different issue. I sent the letter of cancellation to my agent Dec 17th stating to cancel as of the 14th. I had heard nothing so I called the agents office Jan 4 and the receptionist stated they show my cancellation date as Dec 14 and it takes 15-17 days from that date for refund. Jan 7 I called Corp and the woman tells me that my policy was cancelled in June! My mtg company sent the premium to them May 6, so how could I not have coverage? The woman at corp put me on hold (for a very long time) and when she came back on she had a three way call with my agent. My agent shows that I have an ACTIVE homeowners policy, and has no record of me cancelling. I tell her what I was told by her office and she will check with the others in the office, but wants me to mail it again, so I tell her I will fax it. Now how is it that corp said my policy was cancelled....the rep was looking at the wrong policy. I am now back to waiting for my refund, which should be for 6 mos of coverage. They have no problem taking your money, but they dont take much time or energy into refunding you.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
User friendly website??May 26, 2009 By VolFanShan16
I visited the Allstate Insurance website to set up a policy for car insurance. I completed all of the information requested, including my billing information. At the end of the session I received an error message stating that the request could not be processed online, and it gave me a number to call. I did so, and set up my policy. At the conclusion of the call, I authorized Allstate to transfer the down payment from my checking account. Afterwards, I checked my bank statement and found that the original online request also deducted a down payment in addition to the one I completed on the phone. I called the company and was passed from person to person several times before they told me it would be 48 hours before they could process the refund. At the end of this period I called back and was informed that it would be 19 days from the time it was taken out before I would see my money returned to me. Their reason was that it needed time to process through the system. It only took them seconds to wrongfully take my money, but will take them weeks to return it? Meanwhile, my checking account is now in overdraft and my budget is screwed. I wonder how many other people are being ""processed through the system"" while they await the return of their funds from a ""website error""? My guess is that Allstate is holding thousands of dollars that do not belong to them in order to beef up their bottom line, and there is nothing the consumer can do about it. So much for ""in good hands"", what a joke, they should be sued for false advertisement.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
""YOU ARE NOT IN GOOD HANDS WITH ALLSTATE""April 06, 2009 By armywf
If there was a -1 that is what Allstate would get.! The Agent may be nice but the claims adjusters that come to your home are lying,condesending,thieves. Beware of this company run the other way as fast as you can. There was a flood in our home and the Allstate adjuster sent in a company which never found ALL the water damage. By the time eveything was said and done they refused to pay for the damages that sat for 2 extra weeks and said ""we already paid enough on your claim. We hired a private insurance adjuster and Allstate shorted us about $9000. The insurance adjuster we hired said they are one of the worst companies and they pay under national standards he should know he worked for them. Just too much to write. What is even lower is they took advantage of a SERVICEMAN WHO WAS SERVING OVERSEAS IN IRAQ AT THE TIME! Shame on them----how do they sleep at night.????? I will make it my mission to let everyone know what type of company they are and how they pulled one over on us.
8 of 11 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
allstate insuranceOctober 26, 2008 By sticko02
well i have allstate homeowners and auto insurance. they say your in good hands. well not so by my judgment. we had a hurricane and i had to submit a claim. I called their 1-800 number they gave me a claim number and an adjusters name said the adjuster would call the next day and come out on sept 22 they never called or came out, over the next 3 weeks they gave me 3 more adjusters none of them ever called.got another adjuster he didnt call either i called him he said he would come out oct 21 at 10 am well on oct 21 at 10:01 am he called said his car broke down and he couldn't make it. he did finally show up that afternoon. I didn't get a check to make repairs and have not heard from him since. but from all the people around here and the different insurance company's . the best to promply come out and pay off has been farmers. allstate jumped my deductible to 2% for hurricanes while all the others have only been 1%. so for my part i will not use allstate ever again.
28 of 29 people found this review helpful.
4 out of 5 4 out of 5
AllstateOctober 21, 2008 By jaimrene
A nice general review stating facts about Allstate. I would have liked to know more about the most common complaints they have received. I have used Allstate as my insurance provider for the last 19 years and have never had any problems what so ever.
12 of 34 people found this review helpful.